A Division Of The
Department of Public Safety
Public Information and Education Division - PO Box 568 - Jefferson City, MO 65102

For further information please contact: Capt. Dusty L. Hoffman
Q4162024 (573) 526-6115

April 17, 2024
EMPHASIS: Five New Troopers Graduate From Missouri State Highway Patrol’s Accelerated Law Enforcement Academy

Colonel Eric T. Olson, superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, announces that five troopers graduated from the Patrol’s Accelerated Law Enforcement Academy today, April 17, 2024. The ceremony took place at 10 a.m. at the Patrol Academy’s gymnasium. The 119th Recruit Class reported to the Academy on January 2, 2024. The new troopers will report to duty in their assigned troops on April 29, 2024.

The Honorable Robin Ransom, Supreme Court of Missouri, administered the Oath of Office to the new troopers. Missouri Department of Public Safety Director Sandra K. Karsten provided the keynote address and Colonel Olson also addressed the class. The Troop F Color Guard presented the colors and Trooper Samuel Crosson, a member of the 119th Recruit Class, sang the national anthem. Pastor Tim Smith, Aurora Springs Baptist Church, Eldon, MO, provided the invocation and benediction.

Four awards were presented during the graduation ceremony. The recruits accumulated points toward graduation in the categories of physical fitness, firearms, and academics throughout their 15 weeks at the Academy. The Superintendent’s Award is presented to the recruit with the highest overall score. Trooper Robert Watkins accepted the Physical Fitness, Firearms, Academics and Superintendent’s awards.

The names, hometowns, and first assignments of members of the 119th Recruit Class are listed below:

Troop A
Trooper Samuel J. Crosson (Odessa, MO) Zone 8, Lafayette County
Trooper Ryan T. McFatrich (Lexington, MO) Zone 8, Lafayette County
Trooper Matthew T. Tucker (Harrisonville, MO) Zone 11, Cass County

Troop D
Trooper Robert Watkins (Springfield, MO) Zone 2, Greene County

Troop E
Trooper Trevor C. Sutton (Poplar Bluff, MO) Zone 1, Butler/Ripley Counties