a division of the

Troop A, 504 SE Blue Parkway, Lee's Summit, MO 64063


For further information please contact: Sgt. Collin Stosberg
(816) 622-0800 ext. 259
April 20, 2011

EMPHASIS: Operation Constant Gardener -- Arrests Result From Indoor Marijuana Grows Span Two States

Since 2007, Missouri State Highway Patrol Division of Drug and Crime Control (DDCC) narcotics officers assigned to the Troop A area have been involved in the seizure of over 130 indoor marijuana growing operations in both Kansas and Missouri. During that time, over 10,000 marijuana plants, more than 100 pounds of processed marijuana, small amounts of cocaine and methamphetamine, $20,000, and dozens of weapons have been seized. Narcotics officers were able to identify approximately 375 possible locations of individuals involved with the indoor cultivation of marijuana spanning from Wichita, Kansas, to Columbia, Missouri. The type of marijuana seized in these raids has been of a high grade and can sell on the street for as much as $4,500-$5,000 per pound. Officers have found these indoor growing operations in small residences, residences valued at over $500,000, warehouses, barns, and in a motel room.

On April 20, 2011, approximately 30 law enforcement agencies from federal, state, and local law enforcement followed up on leads serving search warrants on residences throughout western Missouri and eastern Kansas. Thus far, the results of these investigations have revealed the following seizures:

20 growing operations
over 900 marijuana plants seized
$5,000 of property seized
2 handguns

In addition, 14 arrests were made during this operation.

The following agencies are involved in this multi-jurisdictional operation:

Missouri State Highway Patrol, Belton (MO) Police Department, Cass County (MO) Sheriff's Department, Clay County (MO) Sheriff's Department, Jackson County (MO) Drug Task Force, Independence (MO) Police Department, Jackson County (MO) Sheriff's Department, Kansas City (MO) Police Department, Johnson County (KS) Sheriff's Office, Johnson County (KS) District Attorney's Office, Lafayette County (MO) Sheriff's Department, Lawrence (KS) Police Department, Leavenworth County (KS) Sheriff's Department, Leavenworth County (KS) District Attorney's Office, Lee's Summit (MO) Police Department, Miami County (KS) Sheriff's Department, Olathe (KS) Police Department, Osawatomie (KS) Police Department, Overland Park (KS) Police Department, Platte County (MO) Sheriff's Department, Pleasant Hill (MO) Police Department, Raytown (MO) Police Department, Sedgwick (KS) Sheriff's Department, Shawnee (KS) Police Department, Shawnee County (KS) District Attorney's Office, Topeka (KS) Police Department, Wichita (KS) Police Department, Wyandotte County (KS) Sheriff's Department, Wyandotte County (KS) District Attorney's Office, the Drug Enforcement Agency, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.